

Dear Ms. Johansson, Dear Mr. Várhelyi, Dear VP. Borrell

Brussels, June 29th, 2022

This weekend we have seen that at least 37 people have died and more than 80 have been injured at the border between Morocco and Spain at Melilla, and theses numbers could continue to increase. In addition, non-governmental organizations working in the area have shared images in which we see how the Moroccan security forces detain people trying to cross the border, these people show signs of violence and are crammed on top of each other in deplorable conditions. There are also images of Moroccan forces crossing into Spain to carry out pushbacks.

This events are part of a situation of constant violation of human rights in Morocco, in the context of migration policies supported by the European Union and its Member States. This is not the first time that such episodes have occurred at the external border of the European Union, and specifically at the border with Morocco. There are frequent cases in which the security forces, on both sides of the border, use violence to try to prevent these people from reaching European territory. This happens due to agreements signed by the European Union and Morocco, so that the latter controls entry to the EU in exchange for large amounts of public money, and the informal Spanish-Moroccan arrangement which provides the basis for the deportation of irregular migrants from Ceuta and Melilla.

This form of border control violates European regulations, including the fundamental right to seek asylum, as these people are not allowed to apply for international protection regardless of their individual situation, and does not comply with the requirements for the protection of Human Rights stipulated by European regulations, the Union Treaties and the Charter of Fundamental Rights. In addition, in the events that have taken place in recent days, the right to physical integrity and even life right are also being violated.

For all this, the undersigned MEPs, we ask you to investigate what happened at the border between Morocco and Spain in the city of Melilla and to determine the necessary responsibilities. In particular, the Commission must ensure compliance with EU law by all Member States, including Spain. As well as to review all agreements with the Government of Morocco on migration control to ensure that the EU migration policy respects human rights. The European Union cannot continue to be an accomplice to episodes such as these, nor to more violence, therefore we ask for the implementation of a migration policy based on reception, human rights and legal and safe routes, which is the best guarantee that these do not happen again.

## Sincerely,

- 1. Sira Rego The Left Vice Chair
- 2. Martin Schirdewan The Left Chair
- 3. Manon Aubry The Left Chair
- 4. Marisa Matias The left Vice Chair
- 5. Alice Kuhnke Greens Vice Chair
- 6. Ernest Urtausn Greens vice chair



- 7. Jordi Solé Greens Vice Chair/ EFA Chair
- 8. Giorgios Georgiou The Left
- 9. Oezlem Demirel The Left
- 10. Malin Bjork The Left
- 11. Clare Daly The Left
- 12. Niyazi Kizilyürek The Left
- 13. Stelios Koulouglou The Left
- 14. Idoia Villanueva The Left
- 15. Anne Sophie Pelletier The Left
- 16. Manu Pineda The Left
- 17. Jose Gusmao The Left
- 18. Konstantinos Arvanitis The Left
- 19. Cornelia Ernst The Left
- 20. M. Eugenia Rodríguez Palop The Left
- 21. Pernando Barrena The Left
- 22. François Alfonsi Greens/EFA
- 23. Benoît Biteau Greens/EFA
- 24. Damien Carême Greens/EFA
- 25. Ville Niinistö Greens/EFA
- 26. David Cormand Greens/EFA
- 27. Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield Greens/EFA
- 28. Karima Delli Greens/EFA
- 29. Claude Gruffat Greens/EFA
- 30. Yannick Jadot Greens/EFA
- 31. Michèle Rivasi Greens/EFA
- 32. Caroline Roose Greens/EFA
- 33. Mounir Satouri Greens/EFA
- 34. Marie Toussaint Greens/EFA
- 35. Erik Marquardt Greens/EFA
- 36. Niklas Nienaß Greens/EFA
- 37. Tineke Strik Greens/EFA
- 38. Damian Boeselager Greens/EFA
- 39. Pär Holmgren Greens/EFA
- 40. Jakop Dalunde Greens/EFA
- 41. Saskia Bricmont Greens/EFA
- 42. Ignazio Corrao Greens/EFA
- 43. Tilly Metz Greens/EFA
- 44. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana Greens/EFA
- 45. Diana Riba i Giner Greens/EFA
- 46. Massimiliano Smeriglio S&D
- 47. Isabel Santos S&D
- 48. Matjaž Nemec S&D
- 49. Dietmar Koster S&D
- 50. Eleonora EVI Greens/EFA
- 51. Silvia Modig Greens/EFA